Monday, November 7, 2011

Kate Derum Award for Small Tapestries...

Blue Envelope:  Library Betty Composition
Blue Envelope: Library Betty Composition, 2011
woven tapestry, wool, cotton and linen, 29cm x 27 cm

My work above (pictured still on the loom!) was shortlisted for the Kate Derum Award for Small Tapestries.  You can check out this exhibition until 18 November at The Australian Tapestry Workshop, Melbourne.

The Kate Derum Award for Small Tapestries is open to all professional and international tapestry artists and features a non-acquisitive award of $5,000 for the winner and a non-acquisitive award of $1,000 for an emerging artist who has been practicing for less than five years. The Workshop received 63 submissions with 43 finalists selected.

The Award celebrates Kate as an accomplished artist, respected teacher, avid supporter of the Workshop and ambassador for Australian tapestry. She was a wonderful role model and leader, and she influenced the lives of so many young artists. Susan Morgan, a long-time friend of Kate, was inspired to fund the Award after learning about Kate’s deep commitment to the Workshop and the art of tapestry. This Award is one of the ways that the Workshop and Kate’s friends can remember her and her legacy.

The judges for this year’s Award are Professor Kay Lawrence, AM, University of South Australia and a member of the Australian Tapestry Workshop’s Board, and Jason Smith, Director of the Heide Museum of Modern Art.

Generously supported by Susan Morgan and the Tapestry Foundation of Australia, the Kate Derum Award was created in honour of the former Deputy Director of the Australian Tapestry Workshop who passed away in 2008.

Margrethe Agger (Denmark), Mog Bremner (Australia), Dorothy Clews (Australia), Chris Cochius (Australia), Amy Cornall (Australia), Jilly Edwards (UK), Alex Friedman (USA), Renee Friend (Australia), Saffron Lily Gordon (Australia), Hilary Green (Australia), Tim Gresham (Australia), Birgitta Hallberg (Sweden), Sally Harvey (Australia), Beate von Harten (Austria), Joyce Hayes (USA), Susanne Henriques (Sweden), Inyul Heo (Korea), Maureen Hodge (UK), Fiona Hutchinson (UK), Anne Jackson (UK), Feliksas Jakubauskas (Lithuania), Valerie Kirk (Australia), Elina Lusis-Grinberga (Latvia), Jo McDonald (UK), Lindsey Marshall (UK), Susan Mowatt (UK), Mardi Nowak (Australia), Julie Paul (Australia), Judit Pázmány (Hungary), Michael F.Rohde (USA), Deann Rubin (USA), Christine Sawyer (UK), Freya Sewell (UK), Ann Shuttleworth (Australia), Joy Smith (Australia), Christina Sobrino (Spain), Joanne Soroka (UK), Emma Sulzer (Australia), Verona Szabó (Hungary), Jaroslava Têšínská (Czech), Cheryl Thornton (Australia), Anton Veenstra (Australia), Méabh Warburton (France)

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...